SinJul’s Arcade Stick Reviews

Custom Arcade Stick Part 2: The Case

Posted by sinjul on September 12, 2008

Alright! Haven’t updated this for quite some time and I’m sorry. I progressed a lot so I can update the blog again!

First thing you will have to do for the case is to decide on the size. As I build a 2Player stick I need a very long case so both players can play at the same time without getting in each others way. That’s why I decided on 80cm length, 20cm width and 10cm height.

I got 4 plates of wood with the measures of 80x20x2cm (length,width,thickness) and one big plexi glass plate with the thickness of 2mm. The size of the wood is perfect as it already is 80x20cm and I don’t have to cut it for the bottom and top panel.

I cut one plate in half so that the height halfs and that I get 2plates with the measures of 80x10x2cm because those are the front and back of the case. The 3rd plate is cut in the measures of 20x10x2 twice to get the left and right side of the case. I used the rest of the 3rd plate for 6 small block that I put the top panel on.

Then I cut the plexi to 80x20cm and drew the layout on the foil that is on the plate. Remove it after you finished with all the holes or else the risk of it splitting is higher! As I could not find a 30mm hole adapter for the drill, I drilled a hole in the middle of every spot that a button will be placed and then used a hand jigsaw (hope that’s the right word. fuck you google!) to cut out the holes. I used one that you could cut in all directions with so it was easier. Also I cut the holes in the wood under the plexi. I used 32mm and 26mm holes to have enough space. You can see the result in the last pictures of this article!

The pictures show the case after grounding to the 3rd coat of paint. I used spray ground and paint (I’ll upload an image of the sprays I used when I got batteries for my camera) and it turned out pretty good. Just make sure to have the paint even on the case in the end. Also ignore my feet 😀 .

And that’s how the case looks like! The only thing that is missing are the holes for the cable of the PCB but that’s not a big deal. I think you should know how to drill a small hole into wood. ^^

Greetings SinJul.

Leave a Reply

 
